Sonata / Sonatina Festival

DATE: Saturday, May 18, 2024

Where: Rancho Bernardo Community Presbyterian Church, 17010 Pomerado Rd, San Diego, CA 92128

Fee:  $35  The teacher registers and pays online at

Registration opens: 4/15/24
Registration closes: 5/13/24

Chair:   Olivia Donald,

Festival Rules and Guidelines

  1. This competition is open to pianists of teachers and contributory members of NSDMTAC. All participants must have a signed copy of the NSDMTAC Consent/Release Form on file before the registration deadline.
  2. Student limit: 9 students per teacher.
  3. Students will compete in a recital format based upon their age as of May 18, 2024. Proof of age is required. The age divisions and time limits are as follows: 
    a. Division I (age 9 and under) – 3 minutes
    b. Division II (age 10-11) – 4 minutes
    c. Division III (age 12-13) – 5 minutes
    d. Division IV (age 14-15) – 6 minutes
    e. Division V (age 16-18) – 7 minutes
  4. Compositions must be in their original form. No transcriptions, key changes, or arrangements. No unpublished works. The original score is required to give to the judges. If the piece is a little longer than the time limit, the judges will stop the student when the time limit is up.
  5. Only one movement is to be played. Memorization is required. 
  6. A First, Second, and Third place and possibly Honorable Mentions will be awarded for each Division at the judges’ discretion and will be posted at the end of the day and on the website. Awards and judges’ comments given to the teachers at a later date.
  7. Judges’ decisions are final.
  8. We would love to have any teachers who have students participate volunteer for one recital.

Congratulations to all the students who participated in the 2023 Sonata/Sonatina Festival. We appreciate all of the teachers who had their students participate. Thank you to The Piano Outlet for hosting us and for our judges Dan Yu, Anna Grigorian, and JoEllen Vandruff. Below are the award winners for each division.

Division I: 1st place – Annie Zhang; 2nd place – Ray Fu, 3rd place (tie) – Elizabeth Guo and Vincent Segalou; Honorable Mentions – Ian Liu, Melissa Weisickle, Daniel Jung, Rise Nishizaki, Mila Kikuchi, & Evelyn Xu

Division II: 1st place – Celine Pham; 2nd place – Lucas Tang; 3rd place (tie) – Bokyung Kwon and Sophia Jing; Honorable Mentions – Zixiang Lin, Junyoung Huh, Arya Rao, & Ziva Huang

Division III: 1st place – Luna Zhao; 2nd place – Kathy Xu; 3rd place – Sophia Miyamoto; Honorable Mentions – Allen Zhu, Jayden Wong, & Jasmine Ren

Division IV: 1st place – Melinda Wang; 2nd place – Claire LIm; 3rd place – Rika Ogiwara; Honorable Mention – Joyce Tan

Division V: 1st place – Hayden Crocker; 2nd place (tie) – Natasha Mar and Timothy Hall; Honorable Mentions – Vivian Lin & Joanne Lee